My New Years Resolutions 2015

Life

Christmas has passed and now there is a new event on everybody’s minds. New Years. Say goodbye to all the embarrassing moments of 2014 and let’s hope for a much better year. 2015 is when you will go to the gym everyday and quit junk food for good. Psht. We all know that is never going to happen, well for me at least. This year, unlike any other year, my New Years resolutions are going to be realistic, simple, and minimal. After all, lots of small steps amounts to a big step right?

  1. Become a minimalist. I am a shopaholic AND a hoarder; a minimalist’s worst nightmare. In this day and age, it’s natural to live in excess; excess food, excess clothes, and excess things. And when you live among a plethora of things it is easy to fall into a deep dark hole filled with a yearning for more things, jealousy of other people’s things, and a disparagement of things. Unfortunately, I have fallen into this pitch-black hole, but am planning to climb out of it in 2015. I will keep a minimalist’s journal on this blog if you are interested in my journey.

2. Become a good friend. I always thought I was friendly-too friendly that I was borderline annoying. So in 2014 I decided to become a less annoying version of myself by morphing from extrovert to introvert. Consequently, because of that stupid New Year’s resolution, my ties between close friends have weakened and ties between not so close friends have broken, of course I have met a few new friends. This year I will try rekindle old friendships and start new ones. But the reason why my resolution is “become a good friend” rather than “make new friends” is because making friends is easy but being a good friend is a different story. Being a good friend requires you to stick with them through thick and thin. I fear I haven’t been a good enough friend this year.

3. Become an intellect. Doing good at school has been high on my priority list, and I am pretty satisfied with my results this year. However I want to be an intellect in all my aspects of my life. I am sick of being the “clueless one” and am sick of hearing “Susie, you’re suppose to be the smart one!”

My New Year’s resolutions sounds awfully like my bucket list . This year I am not hoping to lose 10kg or grow 10cm, but am going to work hard to improve internally. Hopefully by the end of next year I will be a half decent person.

Isn’t it weird that we need 365 days to motivate ourselves? I would love to hear about your New Year’s resolutions!

Susie.

your thoughts

