Escape in Paper, Paper Towns.

Loves

“Getting you a date to prom is so hard that the hypothetical idea itself is actually used to cut diamonds”

– Quentin Jacobson, Paper Towns by John Green

School got off to a fairly hectic start this week. Coming out of my creative cave (my room) and having textbooks, friends, homework, assessments and social responsibility thrown at me has been rather overwhelming. Above all the stress, anxiety and excitement, it’s nice to settle down with a good read; and Paper Towns is the first book I’ve thoroughly enjoyed in a while.

I always enjoy John Green’s writing, as although I didn’t think Looking For Alaska or The Fault In Our Stars were literature masterpieces, he has a certain quirky, humorous voice that draws you into his string of spontaneous/ever-so-normal characters. In my opinion, after devouring the book in three days, Paper Towns is my favourite John Green book out of the aforementioned three.

Although my reading time may now be limited to pre-dance-rehearsal-bus-rides and late-night-unwinding, in the end, if you’re going to be escaping your responsibilities (school, work, sport, etc), it might as well be something you consider productive, right?

⊗ rochelle

your thoughts

