Alpine Season

Art & Photography

Back in 2013, HonestlyWTF introduced me to the concept of double exposure photography, via the incredible works of Oriol Angrill Jordà. In Jordà’s series blendscapes, he combines watercolour, acrylic, coloured pencil and graphite to create mesmerizing portraits that perfectly mimic the style photography. Recently, I revisited Jordà’s work to use as inspiration for my visual arts class at school, inspiring this piece along the way:

 

  Although the final piece simply does not compare to Jordà’s masterful combination of hyper realistic sketches and perfectly placed paint (goals, amirite), experimenting with different media offers a great opportunity to familiarise yourself with a medium, experiment with techniques, and figure out what you can do to tie different components together into one visually appealing image. For example, I found that the watercolour was beginning to swallow the pencil work, so I added black coloured pencil over the entire piece to intensify the sketch, add a darker texture to the hair and hence tie the two mediums together.

I used this image I found on Pinterest and Jordà’s Twistly as my reference images, as well a 2B, 6B and black watercolour pencil, smudge stick, eraser, watercolour palette and white acrylic paint (+ brushes and water 😊). A total of 3-4 hours was spent on this piece, 1 1/2 hours of which were spent simultaneously watching Big Hero 6 😁😁. Let me know if you’re interested in seeing the final school piece I created that-this-was-an-experiment-for-and-was-hence-also-inspired-by-Jordà’s-work, and what artists I should check out next! Much love and God bless, ⊗rochelle

your thoughts

